Windex

by healymatthewj

WHAT WILL YOU FIND?

To begin, Windex makes amazing ads. I love the simplicity and intelligence in all of their campaigns but one thing I’ve always thought that they are missing out on is the interactive aspect of the viewer experience. I love the battered and bruised faces of the innocent victims of the just too clear sliding door glass.. I love the goldfish wearing the helmet because he constantly is banging his head on the clear bowl… But where do I come in? What do I get out of it? That’s what I found asking myself and that is why I took on the challenge of tackling the product of Windex.

What I decided to go with was to start a campaign where I ask people right away WWYF or what will you find? What will you find right outside your home window, or maybe your airplane window, or maybe outside of the car while cruising shotgun with your bestfriend. What will you find out there? Take a look around and soak in your surrondings and then show us, because we want to know what makes you want to clean your windows. The ad’s blue background symbolizes a dirty window while maintaining the Windex blue. I intended for the images to look as though they were seen through the spots where the Windex was sprayed, creating the clean glass. The copy of reads:

#WWYF WHAT WILL YOU FIND?

SHOW US WHAT YOU FIND ONCE YOU START SEEING OUT YOUR WINDOWS.

BECAUSE IT’S WHAT’S BEHIND THE WINDOW THAT MATTERS.

I wanted to use the words ‘start seeing out your windows’ to get the point across that until the windows are Windex clean, they aren’t clean at all, which causes sight to be dificult, therefore making the assumption that you will only be able to see out of your windows until you use Windex. Next, ‘it’s what’s behind the window that matters’ is meant to create a sense of importance in what the viewer is looking out of their window and seeing. The window is a mere medium for which you to see the things that matter.

